Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings everyone, this is my first time posting but this forum has already helped me fix the umpteen issues that have come up in my two year adventure in owning an Alfa.

I've got an '08 147 1.6 TS that recently passed the 60k mark. A couple of months back I found a water leak was coming from the shoddy water pump the previous owner had put on so new pump and belts were put on about 20k miles ahead of their due date. This prompted me to look up servicing for 60k miles and found it wanted new plugs so I forked out for some NGKs which then sat around for weeks while I couldn't be bothered to do the job.

Then a couple of weeks ago I noticed an intermittent shake on startup that would clear after a few seconds tickover or a quick rev to 2000 rpm. Something to look into but nothing desperate. Then a week back I got the dreaded flashing engine warning light when pulling out of Sainsbury's that indicated a misfire (which makes sense re the shake I guess). The light went out after a couple of hundred yards but I decided it was time for the new plugs, which I fitted although they made no difference. While I was in there I found oil on some of the plugs (not cyl 1 so it wasn't spillage) so I replaced the cam cover gasket, I also cleaned the MAF which looked fine. Unfortunately I still had the shake more often than not and another flashing warning light incident that cleared. Yesterday (in another Sainsbury's car park) I had the flashing light on startup which then stayed on. Drove the car 10 miles home without a problem and sat around waiting for my KKL cable to come from amazon so I could plug in fiatecuscan. Fault codes were:

P0300 - Misfires detected
P0303 - Cylinder 3 ignition failures

Both no present but saved.