Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all a grea big thanks to AO. You have been my star through all the darkness. Rays of hope where there has been piles of *****.

Anyway...

Yay! The old girl finally passed her MOT (headlamps fitted correctly, few new bushes & a tyre later)

Boo :cry: she's been idling a bit funny and drinks a lot of coolant & oil (ok the latter two perhaps a long standing issue)

I hooked her up to my scan tool and she has a stored code :confused::
"P0115 - Engine Coolant Temperature Circuit Malfunction"

I don't want to change the ECT sensor willy nilly (and wouldn't have a clue where to find it) as I fear that may not be the correct answer.

I know the oil consumption is a usual thing for my 147, but drinking coolant like there is no tomorrow and now the funny idle - any ideas what this could be?!

I just wish I was a mechanic :lol:

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Karen :)

·
Registered
450 Posts
P0115 sounds like the temp sensor on the side of the thermostat, what is the gauge in the car doing?

Are you able to quantify the oil & coolant consumption e.g. L/1000 miles?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
P0115 sounds like the temp sensor on the side of the thermostat, what is the gauge in the car doing?

Are you able to quantify the oil & coolant consumption e.g. L/1000 miles?
Thanks for replying.

The gauge on the car sits around 90 (around 50 until it gets going). I will try and monitor it live on a 10 mile run later.

How would I quantify the consumption, can I get this back from my scan tool somehow if I do it on a live run? Not dabbled with the scan tool much yet.

Thanks again.

·
Registered
450 Posts
Just roughly how many litres of oil/coolant are you using over 1000 miles or less as the case may be?

·
Registered
5,227 Posts
Hmmm without jumping to any conclusions the oil thing if you switch to a thicker weight will help consumption.