Alfa Romeo Forum banner

Would you use a DIY car repair facility?

• Yes

Votes: 8 88.9%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Depends... (explain)

Votes: 1 11.1%

• Total voters
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just out of curiosity... here in Naples, Italy I have access to a facility where you can pay by the hour and be helped/advised by a professional mechanic for your repairs, even for belts & waterpump changes. You get access to the whole nine yards: tools and everything.

I'm a beginner but just by changing my brakes and resurfacing my rotors, I've saved a good 100 euros, more or less, and I also saved by shopping for parts. Then on the other hand I spent 3 hours of my week-end time, but I've learned plenty!

Do you guys have something similar in the UK? My mom told me that in France a chain doing just that has just come up and it seems to be working well.

·
Registered
16,710 Posts
Depends on how difficult the job was.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So, given that easy jobs (oil change, spark plugs change, tire rotation, etc...) tend to be much more frequent, it's an overall "yes", I take it?

V

·
0 Posts
pierre_samanni said:
Just out of curiosity... here in Naples, Italy I have access to a facility where you can pay by the hour and be helped/advised by a professional mechanic for your repairs, even for belts & waterpump changes. You get access to the whole nine yards: tools and everything.

I'm a beginner but just by changing my brakes and resurfacing my rotors, I've saved a good 100 euros, more or less, and I also saved by shopping for parts. Then on the other hand I spent 3 hours of my week-end time, but I've learned plenty!

Do you guys have something similar in the UK? My mom told me that in France a chain doing just that has just come up and it seems to be working well.
Sounds a funky idea! :cool:

·
Registered
1,128 Posts