Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was walking through the village the other day when I noticed a sports car parked at some distance across the field. From where I was, the side profile didn't look too bad.

Mmmm...it's a BMW Z4 Coupe!

As I got closer, I started looking at the ugly body sculpturing, like the big dip in the door. Lots of BMW's today seem to have this, it's a bit like 'Alfa Jealousy'.
Now I am not an artist by any means but something didn't quite work here! As I walked , I looked, trying to work it out?

That's it! Mixing straight lines with curved, it's all wrong!

This car has a straight line coming down from the windscreen pillor to meet the ugy curved door sculpturing. What it needed was something less obvious around the door area and then a line flowing up to the wheel arch, all in one harmonious curve. You know, a bit like the Italians do it!

Sorry BM but it is such an Ugly Duckling. A £32,000 Ugly Duckling!(besides being a BMW, that is). You could buy some serious art work for that kind of money.

What BM need is some Italian blood in there designs but then it wouldn't be German would it?

·
Registered
7,188 Posts
Many designers seem to be going for "shock tactics" at the moment to get their designs noticed. Hence the "flame" designs of the current beemers and the futuristic designs of the new civic etc.

These grab the headlines, but split opinion on aesthetics, and will usually date very quickly once the novelty wears off.

A more classic, subtle design (such as that practiced by many of the Italian design houses) will always be more "timeless" and cleaner looking. However, as with many things getting it right, without making it bland and boring, is the art and one which many cannot achieve.

This is one of the reasons we drive Alfas, and the reason why we will always be the envy of many drivers of bland Germanic/Japanese cars.

:cool:

·
Registered
29,280 Posts