Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I'm new to the Alfa brand and had been looking at purchasing a new one. I went into my local dealership with the intention of seeing what deal I could get on a 1.4 170bhp petrol in Alfa red. The dealer seemed keen to sell me a grey 1.6 105bhp diesel that he already had in the shownroom. The diesel did have a higher spec but it didn't seem right.

I was looking for feedback from both petrol and diesel owners to judge what they think.

·
Registered
4,932 Posts
If you wanted a 170bhp petrol you are going to be very disapointed with a 105bhp Diesel.

I went to a fiat dealer once looking to buy a 1.4 105bhp Multair punto but the salesmen was keen to sell me a 1.0 Hyundai i10. Apparently it had air conditioning :alien:

The 170 petrol multiair is a fantastic engine. Are you looking at new or 2nd hand?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If you wanted a 170bhp petrol you are going to be very disapointed with a 105bhp Diesel.

I went to a fiat dealer once looking to buy a 1.4 105bhp Multair punto but the salesmen was keen to sell me a 1.0 Hyundai i10. Apparently it had air conditioning :alien:

The 170 petrol multiair is a fantastic engine. Are you looking at new or 2nd hand?
looking at new, with either the 150 or 170 engines in petrol. I know the diesel will be better for my pocket but I don't want it to be a dull ride

·
Registered
490 Posts
looking at new, with either the 150 or 170 engines in petrol. I know the diesel will be better for my pocket but I don't want it to be a dull ride
I wouldn't buy a new diesel. It's only a matter of time before

1. The government hits them with a hike in derv duty and/or

2. They get banned from city centres.

The NOX thing is really going to hit the fan anytime soon. With such a superb engine as the 1750 multiair, you don't need to consider a diesel.

Reactions: jedkk

·
Registered
489 Posts