Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Newbie here but long time Alfa owner :)

I've noticed for a while that the heater in my 2002 156 is weak to say the least, but in the cold this morning, it's taking a good half hour of driving to be barely noticable!

My water temp gauge only moves slightly too once warmed up, but when I sit in traffic for a while the fan does on.

I'm thinking thermostat, or am I barking up the wrong tree? If people think thermostat are they a DIY job?

Many thanks in advance for any help people may offer!

Cheers!:thumbs:

·
Read Only
4,556 Posts
Yes, thermostat. Reasonably easy DIY job, there are several guides on here. It will pay for itself in one winter as consumption tends to be awful when the engine is overcooled. It should reach 90 after a few minutes of driving.

·
Read Only
4,556 Posts
Just to check - when you've sat in traffic for a while, does the gauge get up close to 90? If the gauge is low, even after sitting in traffic with the fans on, then the gauge/sender is knackered. If the gauge gets to 90 in traffic, then goes way down when you are moving, then it is the thermostat.

Normal behaviour is up to 90 thereabouts quite quickly - I think normal temeperature is about 85 or so. So 5 minutes after setting off, the car should be hot. If you sit in traffic, the needle should go up a bit, then the fans come on, and it should go down a bit. As soon as you get moving, it should drop just below 90.

G

·
My car takes ages to heat up when just sitting still, but driving along, it's up to temp in a couple of minutes. Mine shows about half way between the midpoint from 50-90 mark and the 90 mark on the temp dial all the time its moving hot or cold weather. The interior heater circuit is always on, so if you drive with the heater on full, the engine takes a lot longer to show temperature. I find living with the cold for a mile or two gets the heater warm, then I'm fine!

·
Registered