Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Although I like to think I'm a fairly spirited driver in my 2.4 159, enjoying my weekly italian tune up (no DPF, EGR mapped out etc). However, I have never found the limit when the traction control would kick in (perhaps a good thing).

But I would like to know if anyone can advise just what is this little VDC/ASR button actually doing! All I see is the display warn me when it is deactivated (by me) but I have never felt it operate in any way. Does it really operate only under extreme conditions, over a certain speed perhaps?

Any thoughts most welcome. Even in snow last year I did not feel any difference.

·
Registered
3,138 Posts
I only got mine to work when I first bought the car and it had new but terrible wanli tyres on it, the traction control would work when pulling out on a greasy junction, I could feel the power being limited along with a light on the dash flashing.
I guess it works the same as the 156 That I was driving when it snowed last year, with the button left alown it would get up quite a steep him with my foot flat down with the computer sorting out the wheel spin, with the button pressed and the system off it wouldnt get anywhere close to getting up the same hill, I think it also applies the brake to a spinning wheel.
Whilst messing about in our car park in work with the handbrake it also brakes the front outside wheel to stop the car from spinning round.

·
Registered
238 Posts
It flashes a yellow triangle in the speedo (or rev counter, can't remember) when it's activated. I'm surprised you haven't invoked it yet, I can get it to cut in with 4WD during a bit of roundabout drifting (when I've forgotten to turn VDC off).

Ian A.

·
Registered
1,637 Posts