Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been prompted to make this post because I really need some help finding the best/safest way to increase the performance of my high mileage GT.

I had a brief conversation with Ned (at least I think it was Ned!) from Autolusso about getting a remap done, and whilst not directly saying 'don't do it' he was less than enthusiastic about the idea of remapping a JTD with 125k on the clock - incidentally, I'm grateful for his honesty, he could've easily said do it and pocketed the money.

So, I have a custom exhaust (DPF back) due to be fitted in May, but other than this and the remap which isn't a safe option, I'm not sure how else to improve the performance seeing as I'm very new to all this :paranoid:

Any idea's?

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
...I should say I'm only really looking at power/torque increases, I'm not too fussed about suspension, brakes etc.

·
Registered
2,271 Posts
Remap is only way for horse power gain. Can't see any harm for your young engine. Clutch might suffer if you always push on.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Can't see any harm for your young engine. Clutch might suffer if you always push on.
Am I to infer from this comment that you have a remapped engine with more than 125k and no problems?

My clutch is relatively new with only 15k on it so may be worth the risk...

·
Registered
81 Posts
Mines on 120K now, and had a remap done at about 115K in January this year - the clutch did need replacing shortly afterwards as it was original, but past that I've had no issues. I can't see why it would be a huge issue, diesel engines tend to last to high mileages and mine seems happy! I've got a friend with a 1.9 Tdi Passat, which has a remap and 200K on the clock without any problems.

·
Registered
2,757 Posts
Mines on 105k with a fairly aggresive map...but has a hybrid and lots of work done.