Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never worked with an engine before and the rebuild and refit started in March 2019........

The engine and gearbox were on a pallet and I was able to raise each corner using 4 jacks but I had alignment problems and was worried that I might damage the threads for the engine mountings.....the engine builder told me to remove the pallet and use two jacks one for engine and one for gearbox but I became fed-up with adjusting 4 jacks with the pallet and bought a cross-beam support that requires only one jack to operate. I also added an engine support beam that sits on the bulkhead with two hooks thinking it would help equalise the weight distribution.........

Well, that didn't work either even with the assistance of the engine builder so I bought an engine crane/hoist............there might have been a chance had the crane worked.........the weld of the main beam snapped and the engine and gearbox crashed down onto some wood.........I cannot find any damage to the sump but am worried about hairline cracks that are not visible to the eye. Advice please on how to handle crane issue with supplier who refunded immediately on image of cracked weld. Also, I cannot obtain a decent engine crane for 3-5 days so I am back to using the bulkhead engine support and cross beam jack. The former seems more stable now but can only be used diagonally. As the engine is jacked from the bottom, the gearbox end swings out of the engine bay and engine side swings in toward the steering rack.........maybe I should position the cross beam jack not beneath the two engine mountings but maybe elsewhere?

There is, however, a miracle(s) to this saga, I had only just got up from underneath the car when the weld snapped on the crane!

·
Registered
479 Posts
ouch!!!! Did it drop far, a horrifying moment tho I bet but a very lucky escape too.