Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

What kind of tricks are there to get Sud doors off.

Sure lots of people know.

I need to get both my front guards off...Removed all the fixing screws(dodging a mean redback spider) except the ones in the door arch. And when I checked the hinges to nock the "pins" out of the doors... the hinges were hollow... my punch went straight through... I am a novice at this procedure... The Haynes manual I have doesnt much detail!!

Without help Im sure to make matters worse!!

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey...Matt....

and gRAHAM TOO..

Thanks for those wheels... what a full car load... 9 in total/...
as for the doors.... dont need new dooors... just want to get the front guards offf... so if anyone has advice????

Dick

·
Registered
4,651 Posts
you will find that the door pins are hollow

you need to get a punch that fits snugly into the hole in the door or hinge because the "wall" thickness of the pins is only a couple of mill

when i took the doors of my old sud i had a right job as the pins had seized in :mad:

hope you understand what i mean and hope you get it sorted without too much trouble laughing laughing

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey speedy gonzalis

Did you bang the bottom pin upwards or downwards.... there doesnt seem to be very good access to crack this one???

thanx

·
Registered
335 Posts
Hi Dick,

Just one small point- you don't need to remove the doors to get the front guards off...

I have removed Sud front guards several times without removing the doors, from memory there is one bolt that passes through from inside the car (behind the carpet) which needs to be removed, otherwise it isn't too hard, you can get the bolts off without removing the door.

Hope this helps wink

·
Registered
489 Posts
Hey Rich ,