Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new here. :) I'm a 17 year old student, going to university next year, So me and my parents are in search of a new car. My dad being somewhat of a car enthusiast with a love for alfa's he's had since he bought an old 80's GTV long ago, he actually suggested a GTV (the 916 kind) as a first car.. Yeah I know, quite surprised he would've suggested that..

So I've been looking around for GTV's in my country on the net. Found a few, but need a few pointers or possible criteria.. I've seen a few with around 100,000 kms and one in particular with 218,000km's on the clock.. I'd just like to know if anyone has any suggestions regarding at what mileage I should stop considering GTV's, I know that 200,000 is quite a lot for a car like this... But the guy had the engine redone at 180,000 , has regular oil serv, clutch all done..

Thanks in advance. recommendations, tips or the like welcome :D

·
Registered
989 Posts
916s are pretty old anyway, so expect some high miles. My one had over 150k miles on it when I sold it, so don't worry too much about that!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So as far as Alfa owners go, there should be no apparent problem in buying a second hand GTV with 200,000 km's on the odometer as long as it's been regularly serviced?

·
Registered
236 Posts
Personally I wouldnt touch cars with high miles at this age a car. Hang out as you can get them still with low miles. You dont forget your first car so dont let it be because it was a dog. These GTV's are really cool fun cars but be prepared to get oily hands ;).

As a tip, the plastic topped CF2 engine still has readily available parts but the alloy top TS has the best reputation but some parts are getting harder to source.

·
Vendor
45,796 Posts