Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As some of you may be aware, i'm in the process of trying to buy a 159 SW. Paul on here kindly went and viewed and test drove the car on my behalf as he lives near where the car is.

Anyway, i'm curretly in discussion with the garage re the above subject. Paul tells me that when he checked through the service hsitory he saw evidence of the timing belt being changed. However when i have spoken to the garage they say they don't see evidence of the cambelt being changed. As i'm new to Alfa and not particularly mechanical my question is are these the two belts the same thing? and if so would they have been done at the same time?

Any info to help me will be very much appreciated as the garage is trying to charge me for replacing a cambelt when what i'm talking about is a timing belt.

Thanks in advance for your help
Scott

·
Registered
116 Posts
Knock the garage down on price on the basis that it's not been done, then if you discover it has been done you've a nice result :)

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've just rang the garage and asked them to go through everything again just to be sure and he has assured me that he cannot see any evidence of it being done. He also said it's only costing £200 to get done which seems cheap to me. So it sounds like he's not stiffing me for full labout costs, as i'm sure i've seen on here about £400 at an independant.

If when i get there and check through history/receipts etc myself and see it i'll negotiate something with him on that, but either way £200 seems a very good price

·
Vendor
7,045 Posts