Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving alfas for the last 14 years. At the moment I have a 166 v6 lovely car but getting old. It's a 1999 with 150,000 miles. I've had It 6 years with no problems but I fancy a change and like the look of the Gt.
I'm looking for any advice on engines not the V6 though it's to thirsty. I've had a 2.0 twinny in the past and liked that but I have no experience with the diesels. Also the good and bad points of the car itself please.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I just bought a GT a week ago, it's a lovely car with a fantastic interior that has been a joy to drive so far.

The diesel is a nice engine, has been doing around 40mpg mixed for me over the 3-400 miles I've driven, and above 2000rpm it actually sounds good too! If you can afford it, the Cloverleaf 170 has a Q2 diff for better handling, and a sport button giving better throttle response and another 20hp, which you can feel in 2nd and 3rd for sure

Good points: looks amazing, big boot for a coupe, can fit kids/adults in back (as long as under 6ft), economical and powerful, great stereo if you get bose.

Bad points: living in south london, constant terror it will be nicked/defaced! does sound a bit tractor like when first starting up, especially when cold. rear visibility shocking. clutch is a bit heavy for my wife, but she is getting used to it (we had a fiesta before haha)

·
Premium Member
19,119 Posts
If your not going for the V6 then it is a must for the diesel. Q2's are good as they have and LSD. Avoid JTS:tut: They are the worst engine fiat ever made. Misfire issues, knackered injectors, worn cam lobes the list is endless. The JTD's however are pretty tough. Just make sure you do the cambelt at 50-60k as the water pumps are known for siezing :)

·
Registered
5,064 Posts
Shop around for a good one, there are a few to look at, some good, some not.