Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently brought a second had 147 tspark at 74000 miles, now the seller assures me that the cam belt was changed at 71000 miles.......but has no proof (yeah i know i shouldnt of gone near a car with very little service history but it was so nice :( ) would the car still be going at 740000 with out a cambelt change at 72? it starts fine first time and theres no knocking noises. realy would apreciate it if some one could offer advice, this is my first alfa and im a newbie to all this!

·
Registered
6,274 Posts
Starting first time, and no knocking noises aren't any guarantee that the belt wont break, or a tensioner/idler won't give up.

TBH, unless you've got proof they were done, I'd get them done again. I'm sure you appreciate the car, so if you want to keep it relatively expense-free I'd have them done for peace of mind.

Is there a diesel-y noise on start-up, out of interest???

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah funny enough there is, my dad asked if it was a diesel when i brought it home because of the noise on start up

R

·
0 Posts
Do you have proof of the 36k belt change.
What year is the car as belt changes are every 36k or 3 years whichever comes first

R

·
0 Posts
Yeah funny enough there is, my dad asked if it was a diesel when i brought it home because of the noise on start up
Thats the noise a knackered variator makes, needs changing when belts are done.

2001 and currently hunting down proof of all the cam belt changes =\
2001...so belts should have been done in 2004 + 2007 + 2010......it's ready for it's 3rd belt change next year.

Even if you find proof of second belt change at 71thou, it is still overdue by 2 years. You need to get the belts done ASAP as if it lets go you will be looking at a completely goosed engine.