Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So now that the Spider is laid up for the winter the 1st job is to sort the annoying as hell squeak from the rear.

I have driven with it for a good 6 months / 5k miles so im 99% certain it is coming from the right rear side.

Manifests itself as a constant, 'cyclic' high pitched squeaking noise at all speeds, that disappears the instant the brakes are applied.

I have read on here before that it may be the calliper sticking? Just looking for some confirmation before I get her up on stands and in pieces.

Is there some sort of test I can do to confirm one way or another?

If it is the calliper am I looking at a refurb, and if so is that something within the scope of a home mechanic? Brakes are one of the few areas on the Spider I have no experience in.

Discs / pads on the rear were both replaced about 8-10k miles ago, so basically new!:thumbs:

·
Registered
1,577 Posts
Mine did this, but only when the brakes were hot. The pads were sticking in the holders on the calipers, remove the pads, clean up the faces where the pads sit with a square edged file, refit with a small splodge of copper grease.

·
Registered
2,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks,

Just been reading through the service manual - looks like I can do that just by removing the pads and leaving the calliper on the car, is that right?

·
Registered
13,162 Posts
Mine did this, but only when the brakes were hot. The pads were sticking in the holders on the calipers, remove the pads, clean up the faces where the pads sit with a square edged file, refit with a small splodge of copper grease.
Thanks,

Just been reading through the service manual - looks like I can do that just by removing the pads and leaving the calliper on the car, is that right?
You'll need to loosen the bolts that hold the caliper to the car, then you can take the pads out. There is no need to undo the brake lines.