Alfa Romeo Forum banner

So, linguistic trends and buzz words...

17K views 117 replies 32 participants last post by  TheGrimJeeper 
#1 ·
Has anyone else noticed a current (and annoying) trend to start every sentence with the word 'so'?
I first spotted it in an interview on Radio 4 with a financial expert, now I'm noticing it more and more and think I might be catching it too!:lol:

So (aghh!) what do you think?

Other previous and still current examples of words overused to no practical purpose I've noticed are 'basically' 'obviously' these two particularly by tele-sales folk, along with referring to me as 'yourself' instead of you!:rant:

#4 ·
Don't talk to me about buzzwords - I work in education. Every now and again they throw another latest word or phrase "out there" for us to get used to before they change it again :rolleyes:

Acronyms are my personal beef. I remember sitting in the first day of my post-graduate course and the tutor was prattling on about higios :confused: It took me all of his lecture to work out that he was referring to the How Good is Our School document, I'd never heard it referred to as higios :tut: I felt belittled :(

#8 ·
We had a electricity sales guy come to the door the other week.
I started playing Buzzword bingo as he prattled on before I interrupted him.
When I said to him he was flogging a dead horse when I got to 10 buzzwords before he'd even found out if I had a dual-fuel account his response was
"I just say it as I'm told to in the sales manual"

#11 ·
"Blue sky thinking"
"Customer Centric"
"Low hanging fruit" use this in my presence and I'll kick your low hanging fruit just see if I don't.
"Turnkey Solution"

And "Workshop" to quote Alexei Sayle if any one uses the word 'workshop' and is not referring to elements of light engineering then **** **

#12 ·
"Low hanging fruit" use this in my presence and I'll kick your low hanging fruit just see if I don't.
"Guilty your honour" :lol: