Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I've just bought a 147 1.9 JTD 8v at auction (I know, I know...). On the face of it, all the problems seem fairly minor and a new cambelt/full service is going to happen at the weekend. One thing that did show up on the journey home was the military grade smokescreen behind me when I put my foot down. :wow:Don't know too much about diesels, but I'm pretty sure this indicates some form of expenditure!
Any thoughts would be welcome, as I want to be at least partially informed for the mechanic who will inevitably start rubbing his hands and sucking his teeth at the same time.

Cheers

·
Registered
134 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but out of interest, what colour is the smoke? And does the car feel like it's running ok? I only ask because i imagine it could be something as simple as a split pipe. Like i said i'm no expert but the info could help one of the experts who pops along soon to diagnose/offer suggestions quicker.

Mine is a remapped JTD and it smokes like Dot Cotton when i give it some welly, high miles/remap means it's to be expected.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The only lights on are for a glow plugs fault. The turbo sounds ok and fuel consumption welly factor seem ok too. Thought egr issues led to power loss? Keep 'em coming!

·
Registered
4,646 Posts
basics' get the basics sorted before replacing egr or turbos.

replace the air filter & replace the diesel filter.... then see how the smoke is.

if the car has been re-mapped, then that could be the issue

it could be block egr system or sticking egr valve.... but get the basics right 1st.

·
Registered
4,646 Posts
afaik the 'glow plug' light is the Engine Management light ... OTC

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7