Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was tired this morning as I did not sleep much due to the heat. At the petrol station I picked up the Black Diesel pump instead of the green petrol one!
I realised before I stuck it in, and picked up the right pump. I have never done anything like that before, but when I aint slept Fuk knows whats going on!

The 147 has a green area around the petrol pump intake, does this mean it will only allow pumps to fit into the slot which are green, therefore unleaded petrol?

So if I were to put a black diesel pump into the slot it would not fit?? I hope this is the case, Hopefully Shell do this to stop idiots like me putting the wrong fuel in their car.

I feel like such a knob. :lol:

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
....dont think so. If I remember right the leaded four star petrol had a larger diameter nozzle on the pump so you couldn't fill a catalytic-fitted car, with leaded petrol.

But Diesel into a petrol car is quite possible and happens I think quite often (my sister did it a couple of years ago).

Frightened myself a few weeks ago - picked up a courtesy car and of course it was almost empty. Picked up the un-leaded nozzle at the petrol station without thinking to check or looking to see that it wasn't diesel. It was only as I was filling it I thought it could be diesel ......then confirmed the cap I removed said un-leaded. But there was nothing around the flap or the opening.

·
Registered
12,386 Posts
A collegue of mine did put petrol into the companys diesel van.... and realized it when the engine died.... not a cheap operation to "repair" :rolleyes:

·
Registered
105 Posts
Diesel in a petrol car produces lots of black smoke, but no lasting damage.

Petrol in a modern diesel means new engine time if you've started it.

And the nozzles aren't coded.

Simon.

·
Registered
668 Posts