Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,
Wondered if any of you have tried Shell Optimax petrol. I've been experimenting with this fuel on and off over the last month or so, and have come to the conclusion that my V6 definately runs better on it. The last fill up was with Optimax, and the acceleration feels smoother, and throttle response is better than with JET or Esso petrol for example.
Has anyone else noticed this, or am I imagining it :rolleyes:

Mark :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I've been running it for a few months now. I think my car is better for it. You have to use it constantly to get the best results though as the ECU "learns" to use the extra octane and sets the engine up accordingly.

Marlon

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's probably right. Opti' has a higher Octane rating or something and in CAR magazine tests (I think) they saw that in most of their test case cars, running on Optimax did leave the valves cleaner.

They concluded that it'd be worth running a few tanks of Optimax once in a while to keep carbon and other deposits down.

Ralf S.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Admit I was sceptical about Optimax when I saw the advertising campaign, but then spotted that they were giving out free top-trumps card one day as a promotion, so I filled up with the stuff (my shallowness was 'rewarded' when I got two Skoda octavia cards in the same pack though - doh!). I think it's good stuff - the first time I used it I was on a long journey, and it really did seem to make a difference in my twinspark. Smoother running, and it felt like a tiny bit more power from lower revs.

Problem is I don't really live near a Shell station - I have to do an 8 mile round trip to fill up, so I don't usually bother!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
After trying the stuff i dont use anything else, smoother pulls harder, actually makes more difference to the wifes MX5

·
Registered
41 Posts