Alfa Romeo Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Some of these forums are not controlled by people that could make good magistrates. Understatement. :lol:

I was in a discussion where reasons of banning posts were discussed. I won't go through all the rigmarole but I suggested that "Jap" is derogatory to any English speaking Japanese. I gave Wikipedia as a reference and was told that the 'star chamber' had decided that mainly from people who 'lived there' ... it wasn't a big deal.

Well sorry to inform you it IS a big deal. Any business person dealing with the Japanese in Australia is usually trained on the cultural differences and any actions/words etc. that they may find offensive. Guess what... "Jap" is around the top. I was a consultant that travelled to Japan for a large Australian Bank (fifth in the world),

The STORM IN THE TEACUP STARTED when a post of mine was removed as if it was going to incite a Ku Klux Klan gathering. I don't take to kindly to racism of any kind especially having experienced it myself. Removing the post to placate the duller thinking crowd IS a big deal.

This forum better hope that Alfa Romeo doesn't take off in the US because a lot of American 'Japs' are going to make you eat humble crow if they come here.

As it is I'm going to do the only honorable thing and topple on my sword and commit hari-kari. :cheese: TA TA Sayonara.

·
Super Moderator
85,951 Posts
Some of these forums are not controlled by people that could make good magistrates. Understatement. :lol:

I was in a discussion where reasons of banning posts were discussed. I won't go through all the rigmarole but I suggested that "Jap" is derogatory to any English speaking Japanese. I gave Wikipedia as a reference and was told that the 'star chamber' had decided that mainly from people who 'lived there' ... it wasn't a big deal.