Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm new to alfas - and have just got a 1999 gtv v6 24 valve 6 speed. This is probably a dumb question from a newbie - but i do love this car & am a bit paranoid. In traffic (during rain) I'm showing 90 degrees centigrade on average - with the temperature going up and down between 80 and 95ish. Is this 'normal' ? (I drove it back after buying it on a long, fast motorway run and can't remember the temperature being that high - but I have to admit I was enjoying myself too much to have kept notes). And one other thing... there does seem to be more exhaust fumes coming out of the tailpipe than I'm used to - but only when stationery - and it is cold). Normal? Any advice welcome thanks.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Yep! Seems fine. As a rule for mine, it is 70 on the motorway, 90 in traffic, and when it is cold a fair few fumes do come out of the exhaust!

·
Registered
38,930 Posts
Also don't nessesarily trust the gauge.

My gauge reads about 10ºC too low compared to what the ECU is seeing from the coolant temp sensor.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Hi there, my temp gauge reads like that, in traffic it swings between 90 and 100, as soon as the fan kicks in it's down below 90 within a minute or two. On the motorway, it reads 60-65 sometimes lower when my right foots suddenly cramps up!
It's what you'll call normal in a week or two, and you'll start distrusting other cars temp gauges.

I jump in Mrs Goudy's Garlic Frogbox and the temp go up to 3/4 and stays there not matter what, traffic, motorway, fan on, fan off.

R

·
0 Posts
Mine is very similar in both the temperature and the water vapour that comes out the back. As for the steam, have a look under your car and count the number of water trapping boxes and look at how the tail pipe angles upwards. If you are doing relatively short trips in this weather you may never get it to dry out properly.

·
Registered
205 Posts