Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I have been a 147 driver for some time now. On my second one, and always loved them. The time has come to part with it and move away from Alfa for a few years, as we are expecting our first baby shortly, and looking into moving into something a little more suitable.

No doubt i will be back in about 15-16 years time!

Anyway.. I have an 03plate 147 lusso 3door with 54kmiles and FSH. A dealer has offered me 'between £1700 and £2000" (They have not actually seen it)

Is that really all they are worth these days..? I know i would get more going private, and may still look into it.. but I am just pretty suprised.

Charlie

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
Alfa do have family friendly cars which may be more suitable than the 147.

Have you looked at the 156 or 159 in either saloon or sportwagon?

A dealer is likely to quote a very low price in such circumstances.

If you are not part exchanging then they probably don't want the hassle.

Sell privately:)

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
How is it unsuitable? Are you expecting triplets? Plenty of room both in the back and in the boot. :confused:

Just keep it, or if you do feel you need a bigger car go for a 156/159 as cooper said. :)

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi both, thanks for the replies.
If it was a 5 door, we would probably keep it for a bit longer (easier with a baby seat in the back) Not so easy with a three door.(we have tried)
I agree with the 159 as an alternative..... but the wife has it in her head that she wants a bigger car as in height wise.. with the VW Tiguan being pretty high up the list. Have agreed to tesst drive it as see what i think.

Charlie

·
Registered
763 Posts
probably better to keep the 147 for yourself and get wifey the VW...
You'ld probably do better than 2k without the trade-in...

·
Registered
1,336 Posts