Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a newbie just looking for some advice on my *****. Its a 1999 Lusso Gtv. It just passed its mot 2 days ago. I drove it home ok then the next day went to the shops and it would not start up! It jump starts ok, I took it a drive to try and charge the battery up. The next morning it wont start again. I have checked the interior lights to make sure they are all switching off incase they are draining the battery. Can any shed some light...it may well be something very simple that I am overlooking....Thanks Donna

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Oh ha ha, should check my spelling next time!:eek:

Hi 2spark, the keycode light is not staying on and it is not turning over. It turns over once jumped start but when left it goes dead again? Any help appreciated thanks

·
0 Posts
(1) test the condition of the battery to see if it is capable of holding a charge, (2) check the output of the charging system to see if it is functioning properly, and (3) if the battery and charging system are okay, check for a possible current drain on the battery when the key is off. In other words, if the battery is okay and the charging system is doing its job, then something is draining voltage from the battery and running it down when the key is off.

One way to check the battery is to recharge it, then let it sit for a day with both battery cables disconnected. If the battery holds the charge and doesn't run down, it's probably okay, and the problem is in your charging system or wiring.