Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
Due to a knocking noise from the engine on my MY2004 156 2.0 JTS I might need to replace one or more rod big end bearings. I've been working with cars for many years and have done all types of engine jobs except tasks relating to crankshaft and rods. Has anybody here replaced big end bearings?

I've been looking at the Alfa OEM parts catalog at 7Zap, CONNECTING RODS AND PISTONS ALFA-ROMEO 156 M.Y.2002 BZ/DS (2001-2005).

It seems like there are several dimensions for the bearings and I'm not sure which to choose. I guess the different dimensions correlate to if crank and rods has been grinded? Do I need to measure the rods and crankshaft to get the right?

Can this job be done with the engine still in the car or do I need to get it out?

All help appreciated! :)

·
Registered
319 Posts
Hi there,
Due to a knocking noise from the engine on my MY2004 156 2.0 JTS I might need to replace one or more rod big end bearings. I've been working with cars for many years and have done all types of engine jobs except tasks relating to crankshaft and rods. Has anybody here replaced big end bearings?

I've been looking at the Alfa OEM parts catalog at 7Zap, CONNECTING RODS AND PISTONS ALFA-ROMEO 156 M.Y.2002 BZ/DS (2001-2005).

It seems like there are several dimensions for the bearings and I'm not sure which to choose. I guess the different dimensions correlate to if crank and rods has been grinded? Do I need to measure the rods and crankshaft to get the right?

Can this job be done with the engine still in the car or do I need to get it out?

All help appreciated! :)
First of all you need to remove your old bearings and inspect the crankshaft. Since you have knocking, you must verify that the crankshaft is still usable, which is unlikely. It would have to probably be reground or best replaced.

Honestly, you should give the job to the machine shop.