Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've looked about on this and not getting too much info on it. If I do find info it's always a debate. So it's 2017, resonator, in or out?

·
Registered
2,569 Posts
If you mean the intake resonator it's there to improve the flow of air to the engine. Very carefully designed to give a broad level of power and torque. Why would you want to have less power and torque?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This was the debate that I seen, people saying that it does and doesn't do such things. I'm not an expert or at anyway educated in that area so curious as to what is the truth. People I seen had removed it, they said it gave them a deeper note to the engine and didn't notice any difference, others were saying what you said about so I got confused easily lol

·
Registered
139 Posts
Normally they are there to reduce intake noise, removed them on cars before withn no ill affect on performance, watching this thread with interest

·
Registered
2,569 Posts
How the air flows through the inlet is critical to the performance of the engine. Engineers don't remove it and think they can't tell the difference. They will measure the difference.
You've noted that it's louder when you take it off and you've proved the performance loss. Noise is energy; and what you are hearing is energy being wasted.

This is a very simplified response. The actual 'tuning' of the inlet tract has many facets. If you want power between 5000 and 6500 RPM you would have a short inlet tract. This short inlet tract would ruin Torque and you would find it very difficult to accelerate from standstill. The engine would 'bog down'. Some cars have been designed with variable length tracts to switch over as engine speed increased. What we now find is that a carefully designed resonator will cover virtually all engine speeds.