Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

It's time I replace my radiator and I'd like to take the opportunity to do it myself. I've never done anything other than change wheels so I'm a complete car DIY novice. I've looked at some YouTube tutorials (although none are specifically for gtv) and it doesn't seem a mamouth task. I've just moved house so don't have a mechanic friend to show me the ropes.

On a scale of 1-10 how would you rate the difficulty for a novice? I really want to give it a go.

·
Registered
4,884 Posts
It isn't difficult. A scale of 1 to 10, 1 being topping up the oil and 10 being a clutch change I would put it as a 4.

The problem you will have is age related. The Radiator support at the bottom can corrode and could give issues.

This is how I did mine:

Bumper off, Slam panel off, airbox and pipe out, Fans out.
Drain coolent from Radiator hoses (be carefull, old hoses can split)
Unbolt AC condenser from Radiator
Remove radiator
Wiggle old radiator out.

Reverse to assemble
Finally, fill with the correct ratio and colour of coolent, start the engine and bleed the radiator (Bleed screw on the drivers side corner of the rad) top up as necessary. Job done.

I deliberately did mine the long way as it gave me a chance to inspect a lot of the car while it was in pieces.

·
Registered
13,229 Posts
The radiatore is probably a 3-4 on the scale of complexity.

You just have to unbolt stuff (if the top valance panel is a bolt-on job, that will save you taking the bumper off) and lift it out.

There's some trickiness if you have a/c since the radiator for that is in the way a bit.

Don't tip the coolant down the drain and don't get any on your mouth or lips since it's quite nasty stuff.