Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15,801 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I like a pint. If I go in a pub and they have a beer I've never tried before I'll usually give it a go. If I go in a pub that has several to try, then if time allows, I'll give them all a go.

However, I don't have a beard with twigs in it, I don't have an MG, and I have been known to drink lager.

What I definitely don't do is go into a crowded pub at Friday lunchtime, when umpteen people are waiting to be served, and start asking for ****ing samples of this and that and start swilling them round my gob like Jilly ****ing Goolden. Buy a pint you **** and be quick about it. If it turns out you're not keen, write some tasting notes in your sad little book and then try something else.

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
When in my local Wetherspoons, they always have a selection of guest ales. I try, when they have it, to get Hobgoblin, but on the odd occasion that they don't have it, I will ask what dark ales they have, (normally at least one) and yes, I will ask to taste it, i.e drink it direct in one swallow, before buying it as once I tasted one, and it was as bitter as hell. I certainly would not ask to start tasting more than one though. If the ale I tried is not to my liking, I'll go for a lighter one I know.

·
Registered
12,574 Posts
I had a similar experience in our local Sam Smiths some time ago. Strange pub chain to do beer tasting I know, but if you're new to the brand.

A group of young lads and lasses were trying the beers and lagers and writing the specific gravity in their little black books and asking the young barmaid about the beers, much to her bemusement.

They then sit and discuss the beers, entertaining stuff.:thumbup:

·
Registered
38,319 Posts
Beer nerds.

If you go to a Yard House (chain bar in the US)
they sell you a 6 glass "Sampler" from their vast
selection on on tap beers.

Maybe the UK pubs are missing a trick?

·
Registered
526 Posts
buy a pint