Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had the infamous noisy steering whine/groan, and took the car to dealer to diagnose the problem last week. They said it's quite a common concern on 159/Brera and it's necessary to replace the ps pump and maybe the steering rack( around 1300 euros). Being a technicaly inclined kind of person, suggested to first flush and replace the steering fluid before attempting something radical. They looked at me (the "engineers") like I was trying to make them look silly: " You don't have the proper training to teach us what to do!". Okay...I'm a dentist and I'm used to tackle situations with patience before plunging into something radical. So got home, bought 5 liters of Dexron III ATF (as recommended by the manual) and spend this sunny morning flushing the entire steering system by myself. Guess what! No more noise and vibration anymore! I dont know if it's a design fault or simply the system is too sensitive to fluid quality. It's another car now...Try this before waisting time and hard-earned money!

·
Registered
831 Posts
yeah, it runs out in 3 years...
got patronized by the dealer when I told them about the very same problem and I thought it's the fact they don't wanna replace it under warranty.

not to hijack the thread, I had the car remapped by a big company and they unfortunately didn't managed to do it proper - check engine light was on all the time - so I got my money back and gave up the idea for now. gonna get it done somewhere in Italy in spring.

·
Premium Member
3,316 Posts
There is a technical bulletin about a modified fluid to cure that!
I occasionally have the same noise issue at full lock. Where can I find this so called tech bulletin or info about modified fluid??

·
Registered
151 Posts
yeah, it runs out in 3 years...
got patronized by the dealer when I told them about the very same problem and I thought it's the fact they don't wanna replace it under warranty.