Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
RE: Vibrating clutch on my 155

155'ers... here's a question for you lot...

155andproud said:
Hi people, my 155 (1.8ts 94) is having trouble selecting first gear and reverse. The clutch pedal is vibrating and is biting right at the bottom (clutch pressed hard to the floor to get into first) Been to the local garage and they had a quick look and the clutch plate is fine but they are unsure what it could be. Being a student I cant afford the local alfa garage to empty my pockets and as the car has done 155000 miles and the problem doesnt seem to be getting any worse its not really worth taking the car apart to find the problem. So anyway was just wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem and knows what it is. Thanks
Here is my response...
McGuinn said:
The vibrating is probably a warped clutch friction plate... Maybe you overcooked it at some stage... and the biting point being at the lowest point may be a clue...
Can you blead the clutch system? Is there loads of brake-clutch fluid in the resevoir?
Otherwise, you may have a worn master/slave cylinder.

·
Registered
564 Posts
Re: Vibrating clutch on my 155

1st a question how can you check a clutch plate properly without taking it out??
I think that the friction plate is stuffed the vibration could be coming from the springs in the center of the plate being broken :eek: :eek: I had this happen on mine and it finally stopped working all together as a spring partially fell out and stopped the clutch disengaging :( :( ended up starting the car in first and driving the 3/4 of amile home in 1st gear.... :(

·
Registered
1,808 Posts

how did they check the cluch plate???

san

·
Registered
4,651 Posts

Chances are its a worn clutch with damaged or weak springs :rolleyes: but it could also be the slave cylinder leaking fluid causing the pedal biting point to be right at the floor