Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just fetched my new to me s4 spider. 267 mile drive home went well. The gear lever rattles a lot! Had my hand on it most of the way home to dampen/ quirten it so I could hear the football on the radio. Is this a gearbox problem/ common / simple fix or a take the engine out to replace a washer type job please?

·
Registered
782 Posts
I have no knowledge regarding the S4 but if it's anything like the Sud or the Alfetta the place to start is the connection between the gear lever and the gear linkage. Worn bushes or a loose bolt at this connection can certainly give a lot of gear lever rattle.

·
Registered
436 Posts
Do you have the original gear knob fitted? I had this with mine but it was the aftermarket wooden gear knob which I had fitted. There is a metal ferrule fitted at the base which screws to the wooden part and was hidden by the gaiter. It had come loose and rattled at high revs.

·
Registered
3,536 Posts
I have no knowledge regarding the S4 but if it's anything like the Sud or the Alfetta the place to start is the connection between the gear lever and the gear linkage. Worn bushes or a loose bolt at this connection can certainly give a lot of gear lever rattle.
Thankfully the spider has no linkages unlike you lucky Alfetta owners ..........

·
Registered
4,052 Posts
gear lever? or could it be gear knob?

if you think it is the gear knob rattling and you have a wood aftermarket one, then try tightening the 3 little allen head set screws under that rubber grommet (slide rubber grommet down)

If gear lever, then it could be internal. I would first look under the centre console (good time to check the rubber gaiters are in place and not torn!) and check the breathers have not perhaps loosened...they hold in the shims left and right of the gear lever....I have never seen them loosened, but one never knows.