Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys Im new here. I was wondering if I should get a Q2 differential on my 2004 alfa 156 gta, with 128000 miles. Ive had it a month.
I was wondering what it does, and how it affects the performance, and indeed if Id notice any difference! Im in Bristol but would likely take it to Autolusso In Bedfordshire to be done, they quote around 6-700 pounds. It has no other modifications, barring the 300mm calliper brakes.

Thanks GTA people!

·
Registered
337 Posts
I haven't got one and I've never driven the car close enough to the edge to need one. I'm no expert but in my opinion unless you going to track days and the like its now worth it.

·
Registered
491 Posts
I notice it most when accelerating hard around a sharp corner or a roundabout. Instead of the front of the car washing out (understeer), it tucks in and grips. Not essential but a worthwhile modification.

Reactions: GTA1

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
My GT V6 is on a standard diff still (as far as I am aware) and I'm happy enough with the way it drives. Traction seems good and I don't suffer from much wheelspin or torque steer. I tend to use my right foot as a traction control and not boot it too hard from standstill. I may consider a Q2 or Quaife at some point but there are other things to spend £700 on (wheel refurb next week, crushed sill to sort out etc....).

·
Registered
2,607 Posts
I had std open diff up until 116k miles. Have Quaife diff which is same design as Q2. I wouldn't go back. Yes it is absolutely brilliant and means you can use more of that power when the steering wheel is slightly turned. Also don't have that niggling thing in the back of your mind thinking when the diff is going to explode as the open diff fails!
One of the best things i have ever done to my GTA. highly recommended.

·
Registered
3,007 Posts