Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Alfa ownership. how do I say Veloce? is it Veloos, or Velosee ? or maybe Velochay? I must have said it wrong, because my buddy who is Italian cracked up laughing, but would not clue me in!

·
Registered
32,440 Posts
......too late, already answered :thumbs:

·
Registered
11,827 Posts
Yep, MatthewB is spot on. :thumbs:

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
it could be fun to revive this. At least for me...

I just realized I mispronounced Veloce. should be: velo-say?

How about Isuzu - E-soo-zoo? (based on my japanese)
Citroen - See-Tro-Ein? based on my french
Renault - the t should be silent according to my french education,
the l is too, only extending the o sound a bit: Reu-No

Porsche - I hate to say "Poor-sheu" but that's what I hear the Top Gear guys say.
Toyota Auris - Aw-riss or Oww-riss or Who-cares?

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
I need help with those, I'm getting very contradicting pronunciations from UK-Canada-USA-Thailand:
Audi
Daewoo
Hyundai
Iveco
Kamaz

·
Registered
711 Posts
I need help with those, I'm getting very contradicting pronunciations from UK-Canada-USA-Thailand:
Audi
Daewoo
Hyundai
Iveco
Kamaz
This is how I say them (be it right or wrong);
Ow-dee
Day-u
Hi-un-die
Eye-ve-co
Ka-maz :)lol:)

The one that I've always wondered is more the Ford Ka, is it pronouced like car or just a very crude ka?? Hard to try and type it really :lol:

·
Registered
687 Posts
The one that I've always wondered is more the Ford Ka, is it pronouced like car or just a very crude ka?? Hard to try and type it really :lol:
I heard a former work colleague (who had delusions of grandeur) pronounce it as a
Ford KAY-AY

I say KA to rhyme with HA!

·
Registered
164 Posts
Veloce = Vel-Ochey

Also never listen to Americans, I work with them and they brutalise words to suit their accent.

Porsche = Pore-sh, American = POR-CHURRR
Citroen = See-troin, American = Sut-rone

·
Registered
687 Posts