Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 342 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm welcome again. Long time ago I could not touch my car, because of work. But last 5 days I did some really good work. and now the engine is running. But when I looked at my threads, they are too much for one car. It was a project and now I need to merge all the information to one and only thread. So I hope you enjoy it as much as I do, thank you for all the support you gave me all this year time.

First I started with an engine failure. My engine mixed oil and water. Than pushed all the water outside and locked it.

So all the internals have been changed, balanced the crank upto 8000Rpm,

Did Reshaped Valves, Did Reshaped inlet,
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=650226&d=1463941196
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=650210&d=1463941179
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=650218&d=1463941161

After I bought the turbo, I did not know it would need huge amount of work to run it properly. but thanks to you I did managed and learn it.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tuning-andamp-upgrades/976930-bought-a-new-turbo-have-lots-of-questions.html

I had to turn CHRA to face the flange to ground. And rotate the Intake and Exhaust housing as well.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=689393&d=1473158499
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=689385&d=1473158499
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=689377&d=1473158499
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
And after studying for exhaust manifold, I saw that I cannot weld pipes. I have to go billet. so here is my exhaust manifold

Bottom Case of Billet Manifold is finished now. Here are some photos of it. Also I'm milling the cover case now. After It finishes I will post pictures.

Last Night first Start to Cut :
http://s17.postimg.org/mihd9ocfz/8bb4891a_81f5_43a0_b45e_0bbba524f03d.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/4eecp1erj/7b997b76_f539_4a93_a365_10410fdb8cb9.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/6kd8xa7lr/edf2f914_9bbd_4f74_9a48_dcb85f20f30e.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/bt89v5q0v/9460670e_432c_4915_9a36_0763e7c58d89.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This Morning :
http://s17.postimg.org/507wyvz7j/9082a1c2_4967_406d_8269_c64d2a65100c.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/djmpiwi67/2aca1e44_e277_4a5f_b004_4b0f109e2bd4.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/mxsn2oydb/432cfc76_e43e_47d8_8a87_7096431747f2.jpg

And finally:
http://s17.postimg.org/3nlmj9ce7/6ef9519d_482d_4afb_8e70_f8c3e2f29418.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/ves5dm327/42ec10fe_16b7_4a46_8f20_2862952738c0.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/e41qllben/0464ae37_7124_45c8_abda_8acd31da3ab0.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/cdipk3tvj/534c8627_7eca_4da6_8fd1_36760cae418c.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/gbakn962n/1624a3f2_e5ea_44e6_80cd_9a25cae67c8d.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/4bz2fy0hr/8934682f_bde2_405c_bb4a_8cf2742a1f46.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/nwdliq133/ac167062_783d_4ca2_ad4d_00658d2d992b.jpg

And it's finished.

http://s22.postimg.org/isubm4boh/CNC1.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/99kmsno69/Finished_1.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/d77wi2azl/Finished_2.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/pad85mm1t/Finished_3.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/vckuw4aht/Finished_4.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/fsdh5l0dd/Finished_5.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/7o5d0udy9/Finished_6.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/a6r21izoh/Finished_7.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/kuut0d9nl/Finished_8.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/dg5h7zns1/Finished_9.jpg

In Turkey my Tuner - Kurşun MotorSports - Helped me to find a professional welder. And yesterday he welded it in 5 hours. 3 passes. So here it is. I wanted to share with you.

https://s9.postimg.org/nrjuy1j3j/1baec100_892d_4d1c_9c41_adacd3886075.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/87ch7i8z3/6e586e02_8c7d_45a2_adc7_176fca25a70c.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/folompyi7/14cbf5ac_3fc5_4d26_9e8b_5faed2dcbd04.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/cvsh2oy5r/48be669d_f135_4d43_b3b9_32ea32995c0a.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/xh78ulfqn/58ef2dfb_0793_4bb5_bea5_c69c81603049.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/vqo7t3y7j/60c47f5e_073a_40e2_85c0_1e0e0a1c416b.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/938ymyinj/62ea7b26_2f6e_42bb_8a07_1474aaf585c2.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/tbwc8ohyn/0716f2ab_131c_43c0_9938_6f5f43c3399e.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/ry4pddipb/4633d307_32a7_4d08_95dc_4b1c8cd00c86.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/l8y5xcxdb/27605e3c_9b5d_4df1_bfe0_1ce0a9fe86d3.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/qyizvesxb/afdf2c11_72a9_4be1_92e2_187860905f48.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/ctd6tljvz/c3555d12_6a63_451e_a2e1_377c09d83a9a.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/t5n8jby7j/c521541c_edc7_4508_a6fe_eb19a69b8563.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/c6ea42mzz/dfdd8966_30eb_4056_a160_e02cdae5113c.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/g41jth9tb/e93dcd74_c432_4144_b3df_fb2ad2276262.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/jc616iw33/fcc9dcc5_d8b3_4b05_b1e5_6bb65b3028cc.jpg

Welding Video :
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
After I wanted more injection quantity. I need somethink like 341 injectors. But as you all know it is rare and hard to find right now. so as your suggestions. I go with replacing my injectors cores with 308 injector. Also with IMA codes are generated. I did wrote the codes into the ECU right now, with correct order of course.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tuning-andamp-upgrades/994481-i-cannot-find-dc-injectors.html
https://s24.postimg.org/f8ixdf3t1/20161222_155950.jpg
https://s24.postimg.org/ky3rbgzd1/20161222_155954.jpg
https://s24.postimg.org/apba5nbb9/a7691652_a21c_4a42_92f4_a20daf54e310.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/htrs3mi47/20161230_141126.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Also I need a new intake manifold, because we changed the port shape and I don't want any restriction from inlet parts.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tuning-andamp-upgrades/1002161-what-do-you-think-about-my-new-inlet-manifold-design.html

First I take model from best space available to fit new manifold
https://s27.postimg.org/uwix7v4n7/IMG_20160630_WA0000_jpg.jpg
https://s27.postimg.org/6u23czo03/IMG_20160630_WA0003_jpg.jpg

Flow Analysis to tun a better mix.
https://s27.postimg.org/58i87foeb/Flo_Xpress_snap1.jpg
https://s27.postimg.org/iqp4jq0jn/Flo_Xpress_snap2.jpg
https://s27.postimg.org/vw4mptuf7/Flo_Xpress_snap3.jpg
https://s27.postimg.org/p72onjygz/Flo_Xpress_snap4.jpg

Design view for first piston.
https://s27.postimg.org/rj637eloj/Bell_Mouth.jpg

I am making parts one by one.
https://s31.postimg.org/b6tvfu86h/Whats_App_Image_20160801.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/co0o72xpl/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_02_at_20_27_21.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/uus5saofd/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_02_at_20_27_21_4.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/h7hi6c4yx/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_02_at_20_27_21_9.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/ujjdzm8lv/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_02_at_20_27_21.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/ah9pgzifn/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_03_at_15_14_33.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/n108qzh8z/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_03_at_20_40_03_5.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/tvf4uez9v/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_04_at_09_15_55.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/i12sj1bmb/Whats_App_Image_2016_08_03_at_20_40_03_4.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/rs5dyewkz/4_Whats_App_Image_2016_08_05_at_15_12_33.jpg
https://s32.postimg.org/gwe032bn7/7_Whats_App_Image_2016_08_05_at_15_12_33.jpg

And it is Finished. ready to put to engine.
https://s9.postimg.org/cudcdotpp/d148b364_08e4_4380_8a3a_751c385e04dc.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/l15c59jsd/e5022765_c589_47ee_8312_1b9673eb3132.jpg
https://s9.postimg.org/clb6a0rjh/92e0b910_a0f1_4678_9f41_dbd4e8a0e9a2.jpg

And On the Engine Pictures
https://s4.postimg.org/5hlw1wie3/3aeb22c3_dbdd_46fb_bc54_50d9b62b4b0e.jpg
https://s4.postimg.org/bmdef8ahn/7bc89078_d40e_4470_af3c_dd5ababeb01e.jpg
https://s4.postimg.org/5f6lst44b/ac275d97_4cff_4466_8f6e_0371bf5f8b99.jpg
https://s4.postimg.org/etcjclkbf/e4719980_1a8d_4f31_b5a3_6f428daa94e9.jpg
https://s4.postimg.org/qwhv05vdn/f0e7e586_4fb0_4b17_84a8_3f7d6d80e045.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Now I need to open space for water to air intercooler. And I have to move the Battery somewhere else. Best & easy way to do it is putting it into trunk. So I did it. I used original Negative cable. And bought 00AWG - ~70mm2 cable to feed the positive side.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tuning-andamp-upgrades/1013297-im-thinking-of-relocating-my-159-battery-for-space.html

New Pictures of the truck area:

https://s23.postimg.org/ds3sithez/Battery_Holder.jpg
https://s23.postimg.org/azakysh2j/Negative_Point.jpg
https://s23.postimg.org/6rke3s50r/Positive_Cable.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
As you know oil return was a problem for this design. Because Turbo sits too low for a good oil return to original engine block position. So I tried to feed the return line to "oil stick" or / "oil pan spill stopper"

I choiced "oil pan spill stopper" and Put "oil Stick" into normal position.

Also for Turbo Water Feed had to be made. So In turkey we cannot find "AN" type hose fitting so, I made them with normal hydraulic fittings.

Normal Oil Return closing:
https://s29.postimg.org/l23lqawlj/Closure_for_Old_Oil_Return.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/i9ae69w93/Closure_for_Old_Oil_Return1.jpg

GTB Flange :
https://s29.postimg.org/9savvcrk7/GTB_Flange.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/rwdwfzp8n/GTB_Flange2.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/tcpey4s5j/GTB_Flange3.jpg

Oil Return.
https://s29.postimg.org/3v70ejafb/Oil_Return_Banjo_Part.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/4yvq48kg7/Oil_Return_Clamps.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/q9ta8i2kn/Oil_Return_Clamps1.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/xeb3hj9tz/Oil_Return.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/uy9a3orrb/Oil_Return2.jpg

Oil Stick.
https://s29.postimg.org/53zhdwrrb/Oil_Stick_is_on_position.jpg
https://s29.postimg.org/ykf3gby4n/Oil_Stick_is_on_position2.jpg

Water Feed.
https://s29.postimg.org/68tjjae87/Water_Feed_to_Turbo.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
* Now I put the battery, ECU, almost all sensors and ready to fill the oil.
* I put 4.6Lt Oil. and checked for first leak. And good result - no leakage.
* And, run starter motor without load.
* I didn't put injectors for first time. I needed some oil pressure because engine stayed almost 6 months without turning.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
And at last it runs. but I didn't put any water, any water hoses. First I tooked the air from the fuel pressure line. While that engine put white smoke but no biggie. And it fired.
Now it is all with same ECU, same program, only injectors are coded in. Same MAF, Same MAP. now I will put the water lines. Check it, Run it. Make sure no leakage with hot oil & hot water. After that. I will close the front of the car.

Next big job is VNT controller & Intercooler.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
770 Posts
Thats look all very very good! Are you sure, that the oil return is not too low? Did you drill a new hole in the oil pan?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
No, I didn't drill a new hole. The screw was M18x1.5 so I put a new banjo screw to oil tap. And made a new banjo exit and weld it. The Turbo oil exit is 11.5mm diameter. And banjo screw exit is 12mm. Stainless Steel Mesh Pipe is about 22.5mm Diameter Inside.

Turbo exit flange is same height as original block exit hole. Because of that I cannot return it to original position. As you know it would be straight line. So I think this thing will work. Only problem is. When I took the oil. I have to be careful.

https://s27.postimg.org/r9pyzqilf/Oil_Pan_Banjo.jpg
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,730 Posts
Nice updates !
I really like your work, but your oil return solution really worries me! If you fill the engine with oil, the complete oil return line will be filled with oil too.
So the turbo bearings will be in an oil bath rather than having a restricted oil flow through it. That will be problematic!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
You are right to some level. Yes for the oil pan level, my return pipe always be filled with oil. And above that will be empty. And above that is to the point of the same return line of the original turbo. But I believe your concern. Because Original turbo is also above that block inlet point of oil . So I have risked almost 10cm height in there. For a short term I will use that. But As far as I can think. This was the best possible way to adapt without cutting anything I manufacture before.

Tomorrow Jobs.

* Heat Shielding Manifold & Turbo & downpipe.
* Putting Original EGT sensor to Downpipe.
* Putting All the Water Pipe & Hoses.
* Running with hot water & Oil.
* Reading the map. And adjusting the %8 more IQ - New MAF - & New MAP sensors.
* Cancelling Throttle Body & Related Alarms
* Cancelling Flap Motor & Related Alarms
* Cancelling EGR valve & Related Alarms.
* Making a temporary pipe reducer to original exhaust - 76mm -->> 55mm
* etc
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
770 Posts
But the oil has to go away as fast as it comes in. And the stock oil inlet of the pan, is always higher then the oil level and the oil can flow easily in the pan. For example: when i fill up a long hose with water and the water comes faster in then out, then you have a problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
a very bad day has passed. Now I have a lovely "P0340 code". And engine did not want to run all day. After I wrote a remap, for decreasing %8 fuel from idle. Car made a sound like misfire while cranking. ı stopped immediately. And now I don't have any vacuum from intake manifold.

1) I cranked the engine 10 rounds by hand and every time I see that I have compression.
2) This error cuts fuel from High Pressure Pump.
3) My Worker said. I think engine sucked something. But I check with micro camera. There is nothing inside cylinder. Near Valves or any possible way.
4) Checked CamShaft Sensor, Cable is good. Socket good. Voltages are good.
5) I didnot checked Crank Sensor.
6) I could not check for Timing

I am lost in here, what should I do?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,293 Posts
You can't just "adjust" fuel quantity at idle.
You can adjust idle speed, injection timing, fuel pressure, but not fuel quantity.

Fuel quantity at idle is adjusted automatically by the ECU itself, so it can maintain set idle speed, depending on the engine drag/load.

Also white smoke at idle has nothing to do with too high or too low fuel quantity.
This is just a sign of either faulty engine timing, bad compression or worn injectors (bad fuel atomization).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
If the sensor at the camshaft is good then you should check the engine timing. There is a very high probability of taking that jumped over the bar.

Sorry for English, I use a translator.
 
1 - 20 of 342 Posts
Top