Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

So my 156 which decided to break down on every test drive has been diagnosed with a 'possible' overheating ECU:

After driving the car for a while it would flash false alarms and cut out. Refusing to start.
*after this the engine light flashes rapidly and a fast clicking is heard from the engine - throttle body?

An ECU reset clears the fault but it returns after a while...

Is it easy to replace the ECU and key chips?
ECU can be had for sub £200 with 2 key chips... +2 hours work from me (I'm a novice)

**OR, A mate needs a temporary car: a workmate had the exact same problem with a french motor, but had this novel fix: route an air pipe from the grill to the ECU with a PC fan attached to the ECU side! his car has run fine since!!!

which is the best option? has anyone had similar and tried the air cooler fix for the ECU?

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
We can do you an ecu thats plug and play to your own code box,(just direct replacement,5 minutes)
Give us a call ,if interested:)

G

·
You say the codes have been reset, what were the fault codes to be exact?

It smacks of a typical crank position sensor failure to me which would definitely explain the failure to start when hot.

Do a forum search for full description and comprehensive repair procedures of crank position sensor issues... You will soon see comparisons.;)

I have never ever come across such a case of an overheating ECU before????:rolleyes:
but if that is what it needs after all avenues of fault finding have been exhausted, then Alfatuner is your guy.;)

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
thanks guys,

*I can't get the codes, I've tried 2 dongles and laptop and my phone, I can't connect to the car at all :( I should just try again after another reset perhaps... when the ECU thinks its fine again? I didn't want to lose the codes so I've not reset the ECU this time