Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I'm new to this whole scene (never had a car worth spending any time and money on!) and wondered if you could help me out, im looking to improve the overall performance of my Spider, are there any easy and cheap upgrades/fixes/tweeks that you would recommend? I am pretty useless under the bonnet but keen to learn. :)

For example I read a lot about induction kits and air filters, what about this fleabay find?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Alfa-Romeo-Spider-2-0i-RAMAIR-Induction-Air-Filter-Kit-LIFETIME-WARRANTY-/350630703031?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&fits=Car+Make:Alfa+Romeo|Model:Spider&hash=item51a337efb7

On another note I am going to book the Spidey in for a once over at Proalfa, are these guys good? i am based in East London, so any advice on trusted local garages would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks for your time

Attachments

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
induction kits are a waste of money in my opinion. just make more noise not horsepower. unless you have the facilities to fabricate your own and match it to a gas flowed head and exhaust.

·
Registered
10,575 Posts
Pop a K&N filter in the standard airbox, change the rear exhaust sections for a better one (lighter and sounds better) i had a larini.....after that you are looking at big money for not much gain.

·
Registered
10,575 Posts
Forget the K&N filter, the oily residue on these filters can ruin the MAF - and these are expensive to replace.

Concentrate on keeping all the service schedules up to date, most importantly changing all the timing gear every 36,000 miles/3 years without fail. The TS engine also benefits from clean oil, so changing the oil/filter every 6,000 miles is a good idea. And keep the oil level on the max line at all times.

Any attempted performance enhancements on this engine IS A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY.