·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all☺
Alfa 156 JTS selespeed 2003.
I love this car.
I know it's getting old.
Changed thermostat last week because temp was very slow to climb, cabin heat non existent and nasty burning smell from thermostat area when warm. Oil was getting black so assume engine not cooling properly?

Very pleased with myself (I am no mechanic/engineer but I sort of know my way round an internal combustion engine and how it works) Big thumbs up for the "how to change your thermostat guide" found on this forum.

So to test. Ran engine up to temp. Cabin heat was amazing and engine was reaching temp nice and steadily. Then it went past 90 and carried on steadily and did not stop!!!. Turned off engine.

No leaks. No loss of coolant
Rad top hose warm
Expansion tank hot
Rad fins cold resulting in no cooling fan kicking in.

Read a lot here about air locks so detached small hose from thermostat to expansion tank (removed tank cap) and blew down hose.
Coolant rose in the tank from bottom hose connection. No idea why I did this but it seemed like a good idea at the time just to check fluid was circulating around the cooling system.

Ran engine still same issue.

Is it likely my new thermostat is not working?
Has water pump broken? How do I know?

Couple of other pointers. It does emit "disco steam" from exhaust whilst warming up. Opened bleed screw on top of rad and that emitted cold coolant from rad.

Thank you in anticipation

·
Registered
17 Posts
Just a couple of thoughts off the top of my head.

You don't mention whether you ran the engine up to to temp whilst bleeding the system on changing the thermostat? Also assuming you bled the system did the radiator remain cold to the touch all the time? Maybe you have a blocked rad?

I

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi ex Alfa man.
Thank you for your consideration.
I didn't run up to temp and bleed.
Will try and do that this week if I get time.