Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I have had my G in for a free 1500km service and thought I would recheck the oil level at 4000km. It appears a fair way overfull by about a cm over the full mark. It may have been this way originally but with the oil darkened a little it is easier to see. Should I be concerned? I noticed with my old Range Rover Sport TDV6 they always seemed to run it a bit overfull. I guess it depends on the capacity of the sump and wether the difference on the dipstick compares to the amount of oil.

cheers,
Anthony

·
Registered
34,411 Posts
they do not drain oil any more at many garages.They "vacuum" it up and sometimes there's perhaps still some left in the sump? I am sure there must be a margin of safety. Was the car on level ground?

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The oil hasn't been changed yet. The car was reasonably level. I have been driving Alfas for 30 years and rebuilt several engines and noticed in the past, depending on the capacity and shape of the sump, that the dipstick level, while important, has a reasonable level of latitude.
Depending on the design, 1 cm over the full level may be massive or incidental.

·
Registered
644 Posts
I consider 1 cm over the max too much. A few mm over is OK without doubt, but 10 mm is too much to feel comfortable about.
I would just drive easy to the garage and have them vacuum suck the extra out.

But keep an eye on the level in case there's a leak.

·
Regional Support, For South Scotland - AOSS
3,507 Posts

·
Registered
13,233 Posts
Park the car level overnight and dip the stick in there first thing in the morning, so it's as drained as it's going to be. That is your true oil level.

If it's way overfilled (and 1cm sounds too much to me) then drop some out.

You'll be okay for the time-being since I guess you're running in or using low revs... but if you rev it more, you will put more pressure through the system.