Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im sure some of you have read my thread on the 166 i bought.. well i finally got it running .. sort of.
To find out why some of the things arnt working i bought an OBDii tool, but when i hook it up i get a connection error. anyone tell me is there anything specific to getting these working ?
The battery hasnt been connected for a while so could that have something to do with it?

the car its self is a 1999 166 2.5 v6. its been sitting up a few months and has only recently gotten a battery into it again, i dont keep the battery hooked up at the moment cos im not driving the car yet (needs some more work)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,623 Posts
When you bought the tool, did it come with some instructions ? I'm pretty sure Cathal has one of these and can tell you more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
524 Posts
Dublevin, I dont believe the Alfa v6 meets the OBD-II standard, it is a different standard called EOBD.. OBD-II is a US standard AFAIK. Alfadiag or FiatECUScan is best thing for hooking up to the ECU for diagnostic purposes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dublevin, I dont believe the Alfa v6 meets the OBD-II standard, it is a different standard called EOBD.. OBD-II is a US standard AFAIK. Alfadiag or FiatECUScan is best thing for hooking up to the ECU for diagnostic purposes.
this thing i have is the Autosnap CR800. its a OBDii/EOBD code reader

says it works with any compatible car from 1996 on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
524 Posts
Hmm, it's a while since I looked into this stuff! Having a senior moment here trying to remember how it works..
Seems actually depending on the year of the car (it's a 2.5v6 right?) if it is a CF2 model like mine (1999 or older) then it is not EODB. If your emission light is shaped like a nozzle (injector) rather than an engine is is not EOBD. See here for more info: AlfaDiag Alfa Romeo Diagnostic Software
In that case something like AlfaDiag is your only hope as the standard scanner stuff won't work. If it's after 1999 (CF3) then it might work.
I've never used the handheld scanner tools myself so hopfully someone will be along who can help you more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,172 Posts
im sure some of you have read my thread on the 166 i bought.. well i finally got it running .. sort of.
To find out why some of the things arnt working i bought an OBDii tool, but when i hook it up i get a connection error. anyone tell me is there anything specific to getting these working ?
The battery hasnt been connected for a while so could that have something to do with it?

the car its self is a 1999 166 2.5 v6. its been sitting up a few months and has only recently gotten a battery into it again, i dont keep the battery hooked up at the moment cos im not driving the car yet (needs some more work)
Try posting in the Technical & Vehicle Assistance - Alfa Romeo Forum area rather than this area which is primarily designed for arranging local meets and regional discussions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,419 Posts
if your car pre-Sept 2000 it may not be EOBD even though you may see a obd-ii connector...... I have a snap-on kit that'll read the older stuff... but I see you're in Dublin. :(

You might try a search on the tech section for a reset procedure.. might clear old stored codes.

sorry cant be more help.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I can read the codes and reset them if you want to. You can drop down anytime this week. PM me if you want.
actually i cant drop down, the car has no breaks and is not insured, taxed or ncted...

any chance you can come out to me at the weekend? or i might be able to borrow it even?




the code reader i have is actually an OBDii and EOBD, it is meant to red everything from 1996
on..
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
I have a laptop cable thing that works to reset error codes, sold the 156 before I ever got a chance to use it. I dont know if its eobity ii or what but you can borrow it if you want. I believe the software is free to download.

Have a mate that lives in hartstown area could drop it out to you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I have a laptop cable thing that works to reset error codes, sold the 156 before I ever got a chance to use it. I dont know if its eobity ii or what but you can borrow it if you want. I believe the software is free to download.

Have a mate that lives in hartstown area could drop it out to you.
that would be diamond man... where in meath are you? id even be able to drive out and collect it..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,001 Posts
Fiat ecu may only work with Xp but i may be wrong , I was wrong once 24 years ago :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,623 Posts
Fiat ecu may only work with Xp but i may be wrong , I was wrong once 24 years ago :)
It works on my 32bit Win 7. You do need to open a port in the laptop (eg. COM3) to be able to communicate with the car. There's a how to on FiatEcuScan's website.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,315 Posts
It works on my 32bit Win 7. You do need to open a port in the laptop (eg. COM3) to be able to communicate with the car. There's a how to on FiatEcuScan's website.
I'm running 64 bit. Took a bit of time to find the COM port to change the latency timing but eventually found it. They say it's compatible on the website but I'll believe it when it's plugged in and working :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
I'm in D15 myself. Have a VAGcom cable (here http://scantool.imechatronics.com/vagcom_kkl.jpg ) recently got a new laptop and have Fiat ECU scan installed. I don't know if it works yet as I haven't plugged it into the car, with windows 7 acting up etc. could try it though if you want?
pm me your number and ill give you a txt later or tomorrow if your about... give it a test and see if we can find anything on the car.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top