Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys

not an alfa owner yet but have ALWAYS admired the 156 from afar. Always thought they were out of my price range as well.

I am after a 2.4JTD for work - I am an IT consultant and do about 22,000 miles a year.

Was looking to buy one with about 70kish on the clock (not much for a diesel) make sure its had the all important cambelt and waterpump (yes i have done my research )

In my experience though the best people to ask about cars are the people that own them and the people that are passionate about them.

Sooooooo....

my dilemma is this.

I don't want to spend a lot on a car as i go through them quite quick due to work miles.

I can get a pre facelift 2.4jtd for about a grand less than a facelifted one. Obviously the facelift is a 150bhp engine and a late pre face will be a 140bhp and you also get the nicer interior on the facelift,

Is it cosmetic or are the rumours true about tons of the problems being sorted when the facelift came in.

If the £1000 extra is buying me a fancy silver centre console/steering wheel and LED climate control then i can live without it.

If its more than skin deep i'd like to know and spend the money if its needed.

Whichever i get will be getting an alfatune remap due to getting the increased power and mpg.

Thanks guys - i'll be joining the ranks regardless in the next 3-6 months :)

Russ

·
Registered
6,811 Posts
there were 2 face lifts, the 2002 face lift which in just the interior, with the original exterior except for body coloured wing mirrors and bumper inserts, best combo in opinion (but im biased:lol:, see sig:thumbs:).

then the 2003 face lift, which kept the dash of the 02 face lift, but changed the bumpers, lights, boot, front wings and bonnet:thumbs:

i like the info centre on the facelift too. dont forget, most face lifts came with cruise control too, a small but great bonus for lazy people like me:D