Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts
W

·
0 Posts
If you mean there is no permanent live then mine is the same, have to have the ignition on to work it.

I'm no expert with stereo's so just put up with it.

wrinx

·
Registered
3,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually Wrinx, I mean exactly the opposite - I've got 2 permenant lives, red and yellow. eek!

Yellow ought to be a switched live, and go off when the ignition is off. But it dosen't. :(

I've had a look at the circuit diagram, and the stereo switched live should be on the same circuit as the electric windows. But they work as expected (they only work when the ignition is on) so I don't know whats up. :confused:

A

·
0 Posts
Have you checked to see what voltage you are getting with the ignition off?

The reason I ask is that my switched live became constant also last year. when I checked I discovered that I was getting 9 volts on the switched one when the ignition was off. It turned out to be a dodgy fuse box in my case, but it could just as easily be two wires that have rubbed through on a sharp edge and are causing a short. Even with only 9v the radio will still come on.

B

·
0 Posts
Same here, no switched live, I can run mine with the ignition off or on, can't remember which wires went where though, at the moment!

I'll have a look if you want?

·
Registered
3,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Colin - No, I haven't checked the voltage, but I will. To be honest, I'd have thought the the cable would have shorted out on the chassis if it had chafed through, but it's worth a look.

Bob - If it's not too much of a pain, it would be interesting to know what wiring you've got.

Does anyone have a stereo that DOES work correctly? That means that the stereo goes off when the ignition is switched off and that it retains settings like volume levels and radio pre-sets.

·
Registered
1,183 Posts