Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just found out that my existing insurer only goes up to 9 years NCD so that's what they put on the renewal document.

I have been driving for 20 years and apart from 3 years when I only had a van ( I have 8 yrs NCB on a van also as van NCD is not transferable to car and vice versa) I should have 17 year NCD.

Difference on renewal on the insurance on comparison websites between 9 and 15 years is about £60.

Phoned up Admiral and explained my predicament and asking whether there is a database of NCD. Apparently not and they work on the good honesty of the last insurer to state the NCD and they only work to whats on the insurance renewal.

Amazing considering they have a database on every wrong doing you have done but not on NCD. I bet if you claimed you had NCD when you haven't and you tried to claim they would soon find out!

Any answers to my quandary. I guess I should have kept every renewal notice since time began but sadly I have better things to do ( can you sense the bitterness creeping in?).

and.............

Had a good quote from one company because the alfa is a second car. Called them up and because I drove a company van not a company car every day I wasn't eligible for that quote. How does that work? I use my van everyday and the alfa sits on the drive you would think that is pretty low risk. What do I know.

Anyway any advice on the NCD proof?:cry:

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Then what happens when they ask for proof and you can only send them the renewal with 9 on it? cancelled insurance after a crash? or admin fee for them to amend the policy.

·
Registered
683 Posts
Most insurers hit maximum NCD well before 9/ 10 years. I have about 16 years worth but haven't found it makes any difference to cost, but no doubt it depends which insurer you're talking too.