Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I haven't tried this out on cars, but, that traditional fat "Nivea cream" that still comes in a blue tin can, has worked for me on several leather applications, and even to soften some rubber.

(On this same note, I've also used, on occasion, those tissues normally used to wipe baby's asses!)

Is this a bad idea to use anywhere on a car?
Of course, I'm not thinking of "creaming" away, and getting muddy parts as soon as summer starts sending dust and sand along with the wind.:tut:

I'm referring for instance using it on leather gearbox sleeve, and driving wheel, for example.

Complete newbie! Feel free to insult me at this point :thumbs:

·
Premium Member
42,855 Posts
Personnaly...wouldn't use it on the leather seats....the baby wipes will leave a build up of soapy smear over time....:)

·
Premium Member
42,855 Posts
Yeah! I see your point.
Seats it's maybe a nasty business - staining your cloths etc...

What about the gearbox lever sleeve?
Just don't know.... i guess the thing to do is try it on a small concealed area and see how you get in with it...:)

·
Registered
257 Posts
Erm.... I beg to differ but.... Yes you can use Nivia....
Leather is skin albeit colour dyed but it still needs feeding... Use it sparingly though and leave it to soak for 10 minutes... then wipe off thoroughly... Leather care products have the same essential ingredients, just cost a lot more.....
The previous owner of my Alfa used moisturiser from new on the black leather momo seats.... 108,000 miles later... The seats still look great (as many other members have commented at meetings).... Believe me, your seats have to put up a with a lot worse chemicals & products during their life! ;)

J

·
0 Posts
i knew someone who used to use Johnsons baby oil on their leather 3 piece suit, looked like new all the time

·
Registered
13 Posts