Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,
I've been a member of the forum since 2009 but never posted.
Back then, I had a 156 Selespeed, which was a fantastic car but I just couldn't get on with the nature of the 'box around town, it annoyed me at slow speeds.
Fastforward to now, and I have recently bought a 2003 156 JTD 16v.

Sadly, the car has turned out to be a neglected, abused heap!!! :cry:

It seemed ok when I bought it, drove 'ok', looked the part and was owned by a nice family. However, when I dug deeper, the shamefull truth came to light!! I work in the motor trade so always go over any new car I buy thoroughly.
This is what I found-
* rounded sump plug that hadn't been removed for years.
* rusty oil filter, again, years and years old.
* leaking rad repaired with bodyfiller.
* Both front upper wishbone bushes hopeless.
* ARB drop links worn out.
* Seized thermostat,
* Diesel leak from hose connection.
* Front and rear discs scored.
* handbrake cable stiff/ seizing!

And on, and on and on!!! Why don't people look after cars :mad: On the plus side, the antifreeze looked relatively clean :lol:

Anyway, I've now replaced most offending items at great expense and it's only because I don't have labour to pay for that the car has been worthwhile.

The full service was top priority, I can't bare to use an engine knowing the oil is in such desperate need of a change. The cambelt, roller, tensioner and water pump was also changed and in this area, I was greeted by the original roller and tensioner (after 90k miles..), possibly the original water pump... and a worn-out Gates belt that had been put on in the wrong direction!!

Moral of the story - buyer beware. This nasty car is now becomming more useable and honest by the day.. but it has cost me dearly!! This could have been quite a shock for a new owner that had to pay garage bills!