Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Firstly, complete Alfa newbie here - have searched the forums and there's some fantastic info...excited to learn more.

Just bought a 156 '03 2.0 JTS - hardly paid anything for it but it seems to be in pretty good shape all round. Have a few quick queries though.

- No service history so obviously I've budgeted in for a cam belt and all associated bits & pieces & water pump. It's on 99k - is there a way of telling if it's been done recently? I have some long journeys to do soon and I've discounted them until I have the cam belt sorted. I guess this is a wise move...?! Don't want to do it if it has just been done, but I'm erring on the side of caution and assuming the fact it's not been done was one of the motivations for getting rid of it. I'm also assuming inspecting the belt is a bit of a task in its own right...

- Heating controls are stuck on hot. Seems to be a problem with the dials on the facelift interior. Guess this is a case of a new unit...fairly easy to fit?

- Is there anywhere I can download the Alfa drivers manual and handbook etc? Also, is there a good place to get a radio code?

Few other small issues I've already found answers to on the forum so thanks guys. Look forward to getting involved.

Cheers,

Jacob

·
Registered
658 Posts
yes you can tell if it in needs to be changed but not 100% acurate

if your belt looks like this photo

http://www.marcodelange.nl/wp-content/gallery/timing-belt/belt-1.jpg

as you can see on the top part of the belt those chalky looking lines. This means car has done more 20k. i have done may timing belts on 156 before, just pull the cover back by hand or unscrew to also check condition of teeth. Belt after 10k hardly has any chalky lines. It should be black or close to smooth black for less than 20k.

·
Registered
658 Posts