Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help !!!!
i recently bought an alfa romeo 33 sportwagon series 3 1.3 engine.:)
i took it so i can restore it.
now the problem is that the car has not been runing for 5 years.
i replaced the batery , oil , coolant , checked the spark plugs .
when i turn the ignition to start the engine it does not start (the engine turns but does not start)and a weird noice comes from the engine .
what must i check so i can start my alfa.:confused:
i am new to this type of engine , i own an alfa romeo 156.

·
Registered
4,239 Posts
Welcome to the best alfa forum!:)

What's the weird noise you're hearing? Is the dizzy and coil producing a spark ok? Timing ok at TDC?
Is it getting fuel?

What's the history of the engine?

·
Registered
2,986 Posts
- Fuel
- Spark
- Timing
-Compression

Fresh fuel , check pump , check carbs and pure some directly inside them

Spark - remove plug and test if it sparkles when staring the engine. IF no spark or low noise , then it is not strong enough . Also try with good baterry as low voltage might cause such problems.

Timing , if engine turns slowly or with difficulty although battery is new , then probably the distributor is off and give wrong timing causing problems (my current status with marelli). Open distributor cap , clean rotor and check pulse cable.

-If all above are ok , check compression ..... Not easy to happen but can occur if cylinder were dry from oil film and you tried to start it without usual preparations(like inserting small amount of oil inside cylinders and turning engine by hand with tool in order to lubricate. This technique is used ion engines stored for long time without prio maintainance....

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
at this stage you probably know more about the engine history than i do.
fuel is ok.
the noise is like knocking.
when i removed the air filter i noticed smoke coming out from the left carb.