Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had the 155 2L TS 8V for 2 years, it has just failed the mot on a brake pipe and emmissions,
As i am new to the alfa I wondered if there was anywhere obvious I should look before looking at the little things,
I have changed the plugs and leads recently, reconditioned the starter motor, reconditioned the wiper motor but that is all since it passed last year, don't know if i might have disturbed something or if something has just failed,
CO is 8.12%
HC is 348 ppm
Lambda is 0.79

Help!!!!!!!

The only thing I can see that isn,t working on the car is the oil pressure gauge on the dash

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
forgot to mention, is,t been parked up since Nov since I sorned it, just been started once a week then driven to garage for MOT

·
Registered
13,229 Posts
You probably have a load of clag in the catalyst. I would take it for a good long run, to burn out all the rubbish and to wake the whole system up. You don't need to rev the nuts off it (as some will no doubt suggest! :D ) but make sure teh beast has got well warmed through. 20 - 30 miles is good.

If the cat' has taken offence at being left sitting in the cold/dark with just rich-burnt petrol byproducts and condensation for company, it mayhave been damaged and no-longer doing cat' things. You may need to look at a replacement catalyst.

Also maybe likely is the lambda probe. The beast doesn't like sitting unused for long either, especially if the engine is running rich (cold-starts). Again it may have got the hump/corroded. At least these are easier/cheaper to change than a cat'..

Normally if the lambada' is knacked you also get a lumpy idle etc. so you can tell if the lambada or the cat'. Thegood thing about cat' is that once the rubbish on the platinum bits has been burnt off, the beast is back to normal, so persevere a bit before you rush out and buy a new one.