Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I felt so smug today I had to tell you all,
I work in the Historic Restoration sector, (English Heritage and the like) and spend alot of time at stately homes and country manor houses, today I was at a rather large estate in Ripon, now I must be discreet for obvious reasons but I am sure if by any chance the 'wedged up' gent subscribes to AO he will know who he is, anyway I digress... the Spider needed some motion lotion so Mrs SpiderMonkey kindly allowed me to take it work which today was a site visit to a contract I finished over 12 months ago (defects period incase anything needs looking at) so as I pulled into the long gravel drive I parked at the intercom and announced myself, one of the butlers opened the remote gate and I parked at the rear of the wing which houses the swimming pool!!! I met the contractor at the damaged door to the garage and swung open the double doors to reveal a wonderful pristine pair of classic motors, one is a green E type open top and the other a fantastic Pre war Bentley, the Lord of the Manor came over to question what we were upto? so I introduced myself again, as I had done every time I had been to the estate (stuck up a**eh**e) then he said "I think you've been here before but we have so many workers around here I simply loose track" simply loose your grip on reality I thought.