Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to this forum - my wife and I have just purchased a second-hand Alfa Mito 1.4 MultiAir TCT and we both love it :) ! Only 15000 miles on the clock, so it's not been heavily used.

Only one thing about it - we've had it now for 2 months and I've not heard the start&stop cut in at all. I read some of the other forum posts and they suggest the battery may be the cause. I'm not that anxious to find out what's wrong by the sounds of some of the posts - they say that the S&S is more trouble than it's worth.

Is there any way I can find out why it's not cutting in though?

·
Registered
8,786 Posts
it's almost always down to the battery, esp if you can't find anything it could be in the list below (from a giulietta but similar for all makes)

- version with tct transmission

Engine stopping mode

With the vehicle almost at a standstill (speed lower than 3 km/h for more than 0.5 seconds and accelerator pedal released), the engine stops if the following manoeuvres are carried out:
- gear lever is in a position other than R
- brake pedal pressed.

The engine stopping is signalled by the dedicated warning light on the instrument panel.

Engine restarting mode

The engine is restarted automatically when:
- The brake pedal is released and the lever is not in N or P;
- the lever is shifted to an unstable position, +, - or R;
– the lever is moved from D to the left in sequential mode or vice versa;
- the levers + or − on the steering wheel are operated;

The display shows the passage:
- D, N, D: if the engine was switched off with lever in position D (automatic mode)
- 1, N, 1: if the engine was switched off with lever in sequential mode.

Engine stopping failure conditions

When the device is active the engine does not stop if:
- engine still cold (signal from the engine temperature sensor lower than about 40°C);