Alfa Romeo Forum banner

Mismatched Giulia Alloys

841 19
Hi all

Newbie here. Just want to pick some brains. My 2019 Giulia was involved in a scrape back in April. The repair involved replacing my 2 front 5 petal 18 inch alloys. But here's the thing, they're a darker colour than the originals. As you'll see from the image they're a gunmetal colour (which I prefer). The garage took the part number from my old alloys so I'm a tad confused why they're darker. My issue is that the insurers won't approve a replacement because they're under the impression that the originals were refurbed at some point - maybe they were. But my point to them is that I haven't seen a Giulia with gunmetal alloys like those - and all the ones on eBay are the 'original' lighter shade. Also, I bought some touch up paint for my alloys last year and it's an exact match. Plus, even if the authorized dealer did do a smart repair they would get as close to stock as possible. I've spoken to the dealer I purchased from and the guy in the parts dept. told me he doesn't know of any Giulias with alloys in that style and in that gunmetal colour. I'm now in a position where I either have to buy a new set or refurb the existing to colour match.

Your input and expert guidance would be appreciated.

Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Hood
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
Did they source brand new parts from AR or from a parts supplier in which case they may be refurbs that were supplied.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Manc350

I imagine they sourced them from AR as the garage used the part number from my original alloys (so they claim). Also, an Alfa garage had a look at the finish on the new wheels and he thinks the smoothness of the paint is consistent with a factory finish.

·
Registered
42,772 Posts
So they could’ve had the wheels refurbished for the forecourt a bit lighter than original or something like that. You could the rears done to match the fronts which are to original spec.