Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
716 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The standard tyres on the 19" Ti wheels are a bit chunky in my opinion

Has anyone fitted lower profile tyres? I know this will increase road noise and the likelyhood of crippling the car thanks to the lack of effort from the local council fixing the roads, and also scraping over speedbumps even more :( but just wanted to know if anyone has done it and what they went for?

·
Registered
716 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not done it myself, but what size are you thinking of going to?
Not really sure. The standards are 40 profile aren't they?

I've had 235/30/19 on my Audi before which looked like this

So maybe a 35 profile? The 40's are just a bit chunk for my liking

·
Registered
291 Posts
I've been running 255/35/19's all round for the last 8 months with no issues whatsoever.
A good comprimise for me between extortionate conti/pirrelli replacements and my reservations over using budget tyres. theres a wide range of tyres available in that size at the correct load rating from the likes of Avon/Dunlop/Fulda/Kumho/Falken/Barum.

Personally went fo the Barum Bravuris 2 (manufactured by Continental). I can't say i have noticed any discernable drop in performance over the Conti 3's previously fitted, turn in and cornering grip as good if not better than before (possibly due to the wider tread) and the all important and much debated wet grip (search forum for Accellera) is excellent.

Tyres to tend to be an emotive subject and I dont doubt I will get flamed for doubting Acceleras and the like, but it is just my opinion and I'll admit to never having tried them... but i wouldn't.

Barum Bravuris 2 | the Barum Bravuris 2 reviewed and rated | the online tyre guide
Barum -Bravuris 2

·
Registered
716 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for that :) i've always like Falken tyres, found them to be an awesome compromise between grip, tread life and of course price